

12th Advanced Phytoplankton Course - APC 12

Identification, Taxonomy, Systematics

Roscoff Biological Station (France) - 19th May to 8th June 2019

APC12 is organized by the Station Biologique de Roscoff together with the Stazione Zoologica Anton Dohrn and the IOC Science and Communication Centre on Harmful Algae.

APC 12 aims to provide participants with in-depth expert knowledge on the identification, classification and phylogeny of marine microalgae (diatoms, dinoflagellates, coccolithophores, other phytoflagellates) by integrating morphological observations with molecular data and new approaches.

The intensive 3-week course will consist of lectures, practical sessions and guest seminars. A diverse collection of preserved and live material will be offered for examination in light and (for selected taxa) electron microscopy. The course will cover: methods and criteria for species identification; up-to-date taxonomic frameworks; morphological and molecular phylogeny; toxic and harmful species; general and specific aspects of phytoplankton biodiversity and biogeography.

Faculty

- Cedric Berney, Station Biologique de Roscoff, France Eukaryotes
- Nicolas Chomerat, IFREMER, France Dinoflagellates
- Mona Hoppenrath, Senckenberg Am Meer Wilhelmshaven, Germany Dinoflagellates
- Raffaele Siano, IFREMER, France Dinoflagellates
- Marina Montresor, Stazione Zoologica di Napoli, Italy Dinoflagellates
- Jacob Larsen, University of Copenhagen, Denmark Dinoflagellates
- Carina B. Lange, Universidad de Concepcion, Chile Diatoms
- Nina Lundholm, Nat. History Museum, University of Copenhagen, Denmark Diatoms
- Carmelo Tomas, University of South Carolina, Wilmington Raphidophytes
- Diana Sarno, Stazione Zoologica di Napoli, Italy Diatoms
- Kerstin Hoef-Emden, University of Köln, Germany Cryptophytes
- Adriana Zingone, Stazione Zoologica di Napoli, Italy Chlorophytes
- Øjvind Moestrup, University of Copenhagen, Denmark Chlorophytes
- Daniel Vaulot, Station Biologique de Roscoff, France Chlorophytes
- Masanobu Kawachi, NIES, Tsukuba, Japan Heterokonts
- Ian Probert, Station Biologique de Roscoff, France Haptophytes
- Bente Edvardsen, University of Oslo, Norway Haptophytes
- Jeremy Young, University College London, UK Haptophytes
- Christophe Six, Station Biologique de Roscoff, France Cyanophytes

Participation is limited to 20 participants with at least a M.Sc. degree (or equivalent), with documented experience and professional interest in phytoplankton identification. The course will be taught in English and a good knowledge of English is therefore required. There will be no registration fee, but participants will have to provide for their travel expenses.

More detailed information are available on the website: https://sites.google.com/view/apc12/home.

Please apply before September 1, 2018 at https://sites.google.com/view/apc12/applications











